Stay up-to-date on information about news, special events, clinics, and programs.
Download our latest newsletter from the sidebar at the right. 

May 30, 2017 - The official ribbon cutting for the Radford/Pulaski Center was held on May 25. With help from the Pulaski Chamber of Commerce, Michelle, Board Chairman, Dr. Jim Bohland, and Virginia Community Healthcare Association Executive Director Neil Graham, addressed the crowd of approximately 60 local business owners, government officials, and current/future patients, and shared our mission and goals of meeting the healthcare needs of those in the Radford and Pulaski region. 

Website Collage.jpg


Our 2016 holiday letter to friends.

2016 CHCNRV_Letter.jpg
We are committed to our community!

Table Top Health Indicator Summary Dec 2016.jpg

We welcome Morgan Akers, FNP-BC, to our team!
January 2017

FCNRV_Akers Ad_v3.jpg

December 14, 2016 - What an exceptional year we've had.  We wouldn't be where we are today without the people in our community who continue to support our mission year after year. Thank you to all of our donors!

We ended the year with a little fun, check out out Facebook frame photo booth!

Facebook Frame Collage.jpg

December 1, 2016 - During the Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce Annual Dinner, we were honored to be selected for Non-Profit of the Year. It was quite a surprise but a humbling experience to be recognized by those in our community. 

Additionally, Melissa Gregson, one of our staff members, graduated from the 2016 Leadership of the New River Valley program where she was honored with the Spark Plug Award, an honor voted on by her fellow classmates. 

MCCC Anual Dinner.jpg

October 20, 2016 - Created and sponsored by a Community Health Center program:  G-Net (Giles Network) held its 5th annual  Appalachian Cultural Competency training on October 21st at Mountain Lake Lodge in Giles County.  This all-day workshop featured Dr. Theresa Burris, Director of  the Appalachian Regional and Rural Studies Center at Radford University and her colleague, Mr. Ricky Cox, an English instructor from Radford Univ. whose research focuses on Appalachian culture.

We thank all of the Giles Network agencies and the attendees for another tremendous learning experience this year


October 14, 2016- After seven years, Amy Westmoreland has rotated off of the Board of Directors of the Community Health Center. During her tenure, Amy served as Board Chair and played an integral role in our transition from free clinic to a Federally Qualified Community Health Center.  We will greatly miss her and her exceptional leadership of this Center!

 Amy W- Goodbye.jpg

The Community Health Center welcomes Dr. Mansdoerfer to our team!


Community Health Center of the New River Valley
Receives Quality Improvement Award

August 22, 2016 - The Community Health Center has been awarded a “Health Center Quality Improvement Award” from the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).

The financial award is based on high performance within categories including: Improving Quality of Care, Advancing Health Equity, Enhancing Access to Care and Delivering Value.  The Center’s award of $61,209 will be used to expand quality improvement activities to strengthen health care delivery for patients.

The Center has always been committed to providing high-quality care. Between 2015 and 2016, the Center’s services grew with a 22 percent increase in the patient base and 35 percent increase in patient visits across all services.

“Staff and volunteers work very hard every day for our patients to provide them the high-level of quality care they deserve.” says Michelle Brauns, CEO. “Receiving this funding based on the quality of work our staff puts forth demonstrates our commitment to building a healthier community.”

Community Health Center of the New River Valley
Receives Facility Renovation and Improvement Funding

July 25, 2016The Community Health Center was recently awarded a Health Infrastructure Investment Program grant for facility renovation and construction to increase patient capacity at the Christiansburg site.

          CHCNRV was one of ten federally-qualified health care centers in Virginia to receive an award from the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The Center’s award- $1 million -will allow for both internal and external building renovations, upgrades and equipment purchase as well as provide for the addition of two pediatric rooms.

          HRSA’s provision of the funding stems from their commitment to expand access to care for those individuals who have become insured through the Affordable Care Act implementation.

          The Center served more than 2,400 low-income, uninsured and insured individuals in 2015. That number is on par to increase in 2016 and the building renovation will be a timely change to accommodate the expansion. “We are adding two exam rooms to better accommodate our pediatric patient care, as well a fifth dental operatory for the surge of dental patients we’re serving,” says Michelle Brauns, CEO. “In addition, the building – an old motel initially - hasn’t been updated since 2003 and we hope our modern upgrades will truly enhance the patient experience."

          The Center has chosen the architecture and engineering firm, Thompson and Litton, to provide professional design services.  It is anticipated that construction will be completed by late summer, 2017.  

The Community Health Center welcomes Dr. Hunt to our team!

Ad Hunt (002).jpg

Radford University's Doctor of Psychology (Psy.D.) students will continue to serve
Community Health Center patients.  
Community Health Center of the New River Valley
Board Leadership
                      James Bohland, Chair                        
                     Tracy Cohn, Chair-Elect                        
                           Chuck Sawyers, Treasurer                             
                                   Lynne Knox, Secretary                                    

               Bettye Ackerman                   
                                     David Bieri                                         
               Jim Bronnenkant                 
                                                      Cynthia Lee Darnell                                                        
                                                           Judy Diggs                                                              
                                                                   Joan Hirt                                                                        
                                     Jacquelyn Jackson                                      
                                  Susan Marmagas                                  
                   Tony Ramsey                     
   John T. Staten Jr.  

Bohland .jpg                   Above: Dr. Jim Bohland, Board Chair    Below: 2016-2017 Board of Directors                  

2016-17 Board of Directors.jpg